2011 Wabash Poetry Prize Results!

By Jessica Jacobs, Editor-in-Chief

MayaJewellZeller-150x150After Sycamore editors carefully culled 20 finalists from a Wabash Contest record of nearly 600 entries, former U.S. Poet Laureate Louise Glück has selected Maya Jewell Zeller and her poem “Caterpillars” as the winner of this year’s Wabash Prize for Poetry. Glück also chose Carrie Causey and her poem “Woman in the Wall” as this year’s contest runner-up.  Both of these poems will be showcased in Issue 24.1, Winter/Spring 2011, along with work from selected finalists.

Thanks to all who submitted. We hope you will continue to support and enjoy Sycamore and will consider submitting your work to the 2012 Wabash Prize for Poetry next year.

Complete Results: 2011 Wabash Poetry Prize


Maya Jewell Zeller

First Runner-Up:

Carrie Causey

Second Runner-Up:

Michael Tyrell

Third Runner-Up:

Grace Marie Grafton

Terry Blackhawk
Sage Cohen
Geffrey Davis
Rebecca Morgan Frank
Jennifer Hancock
Lauren Hilger
Stephen Massimilla
Matthew Minicucci
Brad Modlin
Bern Mulvey
Emilia Phillips
Jonathan Rice
Kristin Robertson
Meredith Stricker
Sara Talpos
Greg Wrenn