We Have a Winner!


I’m thrilled to announce the winner of the 2006 Wabash Prize for Poetry!  “For  My Father, Who Fears I’m Going to Hell,” byCindy May Murphy, was chosen by 2006 poetry judge Ellen Bryant Voigt as the first place winner.  Ms. Murphy’s poem will be featured in our upcoming issue 19.1, due out in mid-January.  Cindy May Murphy  is an MFA candidate in the creative writing program at the University of Oregon, and her work has appeared or is forthcoming in Night Train, Bryant Literary Review, New Delta Review, and a number of other journals.

I’d also like to congratulate the authors of the four poems chosen as finalists for this year’s Wabash Prize (whose poems will also be featured in issue 19.1): Susan Settlemyre Williams, for her poem “Linnaeus in Eden,” Jennifer Perrine for her poem “Majie,” Harry Waitzman for his poem “Homage to Marina Tsvetayeva,” and Allison Seay for her poem “Spoken For.